Board of Directors

The Appraisal District Board of Directors Role in the Property Tax System

The local property tax system follows the principle of checks and balances. The Board of Directors is the governing body of the appraisal district. In accordance with Section 6.03(a) of the Property Tax Code, five members are appointed by the taxing units that participate in the district excepting the two special districts (Fairfield and Teague Hospital Districts). When not selected to serve as a voting member of the board, the county tax assessor-collector serves in an ex officio capacity. An appraisal district board of directors hires the chief appraiser, sets the budget and appoints the appraisal review board members.

The directors have no authority to set values or appraisal methods. The chief appraiser carries out the appraisal district’s legal duties, hires the staff, makes the appraisals and operates the appraisal office.

Regular board meetings take place on the 2nd Wednesday of the month at 7:00 p.m. at the Freestone Central Appraisal District office.

Board of Directors
Craig Dunlap, Chairman
Daniel M Ralstin, Tax Assessor/Collector, Secretary
Lovie Whyte
Brownie Utley
Sid Fryer
Jerry Don Sanders

BOD Information

Contact Information
Monday - Thursday
8:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
8:00 a.m. - 4:00 p.m.
Chief Appraiser
Don Awalt, RPA/CTA
What Do You Know About Your Property Taxes?

You deserve to know how your property taxes are set. New laws require local governments to be more transparent when it comes to the property tax process.

  • Taxpayers have a stronger voice in the process.
  • More information about how tax rates are set.
  • One convenient place to learn about your tax rates and send feedback to your local elected officials.